RSS

A Minimalist Summer?

17 May

Well i know it’s been forever, and i’m still not entirely sure that i want to get back into blogging, but i have given myself a challenge and by blogging about it i will be able (hopefully) to keep myself on track.

We recently bought a new car after months of searching, and although i am very happy with my new Jeep Patriot, i now find myself very poor.

So to combat my loss of funds i have set a goal to recoup my losses by drastically lowering my spending for the summer.

On Memorial day i will begin a challenge that gives me $20 a week to spend on myself. Whatever is not used will roll over to the next week until Labor Day. The one reprieve will be my family vacation during the last week of July.

I will give myself an extra $20 to round up to a total of $300 for the summer.

I can still spend money on groceries and gas, and things needed for the house, but things like Starbucks and clothes will have to be saved up for or will have to wait until fall.

I will be taking Starbucks card donations if anyone wants to feed my addiction during my time of need.

As much as i am excited to start i am terrified that i will spend my entire summer inside on the sofa watching TV so i need to find cheap ways to entertain myself this summer. I already bought a bike which i am very excited about and plan to purchase a helmet for it before the challenge so i can ride it around, who knows maybe i will even use less gas this summer, and if i lose a few pounds doing it, even better. There are free concerts on Friday and Saturday nights near my house all summer, i still have a gym membership which is already paid for, and of course there is the neighborhood pool. Maybe i should get a part time job to keep me for getting bored.

Any ideas for cheap fun would be much appreciated.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 17, 2011 in money

 

Leave a comment